READ & RIDE Children’s Tours

Take a trolley ride with beloved characters from Children’s Literature

Take a trolley ride with beloved characters from Children’s Literature

Take a trolley ride with THE CONDUCTOR & your favorite characters from Children's Literature!

READ & RIDE is best for toddlers to young grade schoolers. Kids and parents hop aboard the Great Raleigh Trolley for a ride through Downtown with The Conductor and that day's guest of honor. Each character will visit with each kid personally on the Trolley to pose for pictures, and read a story. Surprises, refreshments, children’s music, and more await those aboard the READ & RIDE. Character's & Dates will be announced exclusively to members of our Newsletter.

Please be sure to check the character schedule before buying your ticket!

READ & RIDE begins at The Trolley Lot - 424 South McDowell Street next to Poole's Diner. Plenty of parking is available in the adjacent Wake County Parking Deck (accessed at 216 Cabarrus Street).


SCHEDULE

BEFORE BUYING TICKETS TO READ & RIDE CHILDREN’S TOURS,
PLEASE CHECK THE SCHEDULE OF CHARACTERS BELOW.

MAY:

Sunday May 26 - SOLD OUT

JUNE: Firefighters: Get FIRED up!

Sunday June 9
Wednesday June 12
Sunday June 23
Wednesday June 26

JULY: Under the Sea with the Mermaids

Sunday July 14
Wednesday July 17
Sunday July 28
Wednesday July 31

AUGUST: The Pirate Adventure!

Sunday August 11
Wednesday August 14
Sunday August 25
Wednesday August 28

SEPTEMBER: Powerful Princesses

Sunday September 8
Wednesday September 11
Sunday September 22
Wednesday September 25


DETAILS

READ & RIDE runs from 9AM to 5PM. Each tour is about an hour with the following start times: 9:15AM, 10:30AM, 11:45AM, 1:30PM, 2:45PM, and 4PM. Please arrive 15-30 minutes in advance of your tour time. Tickets are $15 for kids and for parents. Infants in lap under 2 ride for free!

Characters schedule, tickets, and more will be available exclusively to members of our weekly newsletter.

10% of every ticket sold goes supporting local children’s literacy organizations in Wake County.

Act quickly, space is limited and tickets will sell out.

Your Ticket Includes:

  • A Ride on the Great Raleigh Trolley with the Conductor & a beloved character from Children's Literature

  • Themed children’s activities

  • A donation to local children’s literacy organizations including Read & Feed, WakeEd, and more!

  • Complimentary children’s snacks & juice boxes

  • A Children's Story read by The Conductor

  • Professional Photographer to capture the memories